The Spark

I’m thinking on this past Tuesday… I don’t know if you planned on it or stumbled across it while channel surfing every major network but I’m sure most of you watched a landmark speech given by the U.S. president, Barack Obama – The  State of the Union address. I just so happened to watch it and felt a strong connection to my purposes in writing this blog…I couldn’t help it.  What I could not ignore that his entire speech centered around this idea of “the spark” -the key word I lifted out – the key word that stuck with me even after the TV was powered off, lights dimmed and I was snug under the covers. In so many words, he explained that we need to be more innovative to keep up with our changing times. Indeed. I don’t think anyone can argue with this…but what made me shout “eureka!” was when he introduced the thought of innovation with these words in a simple statement- “What we can do – is spark the creativity and imagination of our people”.  HAH. So, I took out the part where he says Americans are the “best” at it, because it strayed a little from my moment of joy, but this claim for creativity and imagination was the catalyst for the main themes of his speech.  Okay, so I’m sitting there and I turn to look at my boyfriend sitting on the couch and say “That’s it. That’s it right there”. He just smiles and shakes his head at me. “That’s my blog! That’s what it’s all about!” (It seems obvious but Obama speaking what my tiny little goal to be is, was a lightbulb-like moment). I’m supporting the new American dream. Now, that’s pretty cool…okay, okay. Let’s get back to the spark…

The Spark is the ignition…the beginning of an idea, a dream, an artistic venture….it’s basically the moment of inspiration. You know this I think, but what’s most important in mentioning it is the imagery. Once we miss the flicker of inspiration, it’s gone. Sometimes the same spark returns again, but we never grab it and run with it. Why is that? Dumb question, I guess. It’s fear. So, maybe if we open our minds up more, look around, take a moment to quite literally smell the roses, that spark just might catch our eye and we can grab it, run with it and see where it leads us. But beware, do not seek it out. I always feel it comes when you least expect it but only when you are open to it…it’s a tricky thing. I am lucky enough in this life to have friends who are not afraid to express their creativity or take risks with it. When a spark strikes, they take it on. Sometimes it falls flat, but other times it soars and it ultimately brings them closer to their dreams. I admit, I feel a great amount of comfort around creative activities and involvement, but fear always rises when it’s not what I think it “should” be…I think too much. Sometimes you just have to go for it and watch it grow into something spectacular. I mean, who really knows where an idea can take you? I have blogged before, but this time it is different and it’s scary. I have an ultimate goal in mind – not only to stay creative and inspire others to find their creativity, but to open my own after school arts facility for children one day (Whoah. I just wrote that). I don’t know what I’m doing, but this spark keeps returning and I know that’s rare, so I’m running with it…

Tell me when you’ve felt the spark… when did you run with it? When did you run from it? Have you ever experienced this?

If you didn’t catch Obama’s State of the Union speech check it out here:

http://www.whitehouse.gov/the-press-office/2011/01/25/remarks-president-barack-obama-state-union-address-prepared-delivery

Thanks again for reading!

TCS

About Jessica Marie

I am a NY certified teacher, a theatre artist, a writer and an advocate for arts in education. I am constantly seeking ways to infuse my theatrical background and arts interests into my teaching practice. I believe that all arts have importance in all our lives, and when we find that outlet, the possibilities are endless. Education is the key to opportunity and the power of the arts within our educational practice provides the tools for success. View all posts by Jessica Marie

5 responses to “The Spark

  • MommyTheorist

    Why, I got the spark just today when I planned a trip abroad. I THINK the spark is experience itself, and I believe the key to originality is seeking, or creating, original experiences that no one else has had. This makes you an interesting person, a better writer/storyteller, and a diverse community of one.

  • P

    The Spark for me was born many years ago in my poems.

    Creativity is born from frozen empty solitude.
    The Courage to create is the ability to embrace solitude.

    Perhaps the spark is courage ?

  • Jeffrey

    Picturing your beautiful school, opened and celebrated! Thank you for ALL this, Jessica! You know I had a big-arse SPARK when I started Sati, about a year ago. The spark blew a hole in my old, tired narrative (I’m too old to get back in the show biz game, I was kicked out of school for being ‘bad’ so it must be true, etc.) and now? Well, yes there is FEAR and there is SCARED, but there is also SINGING and PLAYING and INCREDIBLE JOY! I’ll take it. 🙂 KEEP GOIN”!

  • Jenny

    Jessica- Your spark inspires me! Your school will be lovely!

  • Nick

    This is a great concept for a blog. Run with it.

Leave a comment